, , , ,

Results 1841 Election, from Booth No 6 including Bantry and Booth No 3 including Carbery, Co. Cork with some voters, names, candidate voted for, abode, property qualifications.

It is not clear if this represents the entire electorate or just disputed votes. The panel also shows who got the votes. Unlike modern times with the demarcation between Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael the fault line is religious. It also shows Catholics and their property qualification the vote had been given to them for some time. It was not until Daniel O’Connell and Catholic Emancipation in 1828 that they could sit in Parliament.

Booths 3 Carbery


Booth 6

Rev. Alleyn Evanson, Four-Mile-Water, registered 1834 £50 pound holder
Hungerford Baldwin Evanson, Registered 1835, for Droumrreagh, Clashduff,
Richard Tonson Evanston, Ardogeena a £50 freeholder
registered 1836
Thomas Dukelow, Clashadoo, registered 1829, 10 shilling leaseholder name and address corrupt version (probably married Frances Coughlan who is probably related to the Evansons through the marriage of Jeremy/Jeremiah Coughlan and Susan Evanson 1705), he was a vestry man. Farm now occupied by Johnsons)
James Sullian East Clonee, 10 shilling leaseholder registered 1836 farm now probably Collins. Descendant of Michael Sullivan, Heart Tax Collcctor, Land Owner, one of Hurrigs claimed descent from O’Sullivan Bere and Vickery.
William Vickery, Ballycomane (now O’Sullivans), 20 shilling freeholder Methodist prominent locally.


William Vickery freeholder
Theophilus Blennerhasset Syms Waterfall (now Neil Jordan film makers)
James Ferguson Dromreague
James Sanoy (Symms?) Bird, lives Kinsale,
Richard Spenser, Bantry
Wiliam Warner, Reendesert
Samuel Daly, Reendesert, (possibly descended from Dalys of East Galway, MPs etc) family members ran shipping from Bantry to St. Johns, New Brunswick and some members were prominent there in customs and shipping
John Bird, Bantry
James Warner, Dunbittern
John Herbert Orpen, Willow brook, Lisheens,
George Wood, Reeenmore