1823. Cork Magistrates who got Statues. 1890 Rabies in Dunmanway and Schull.


Some of the records of the Chief Secretary’s Office in Dublin Castle for some years have been digitised and are freely accessible online:


Professor Francis J Crowley’s bequest

  • The project was named after the late Professor Francis J Crowley, whose bequest funded the project.
  • Professor Crowley, was born in New Haven, Connecticut, to Irish parents. Having received his education at Yale and Princeton universities, he became professor of French at the University of California, Los Angeles.
  • In his will he bequeathed most of his estate to the Republic of Ireland to be used for the preservation of records of the history of the Irish people.

Aims of project

  • The Crowley Project aims
    • to catalogue the Chief Secretary’s Office Registered Papers (CSORP) from 1818 to 1852 to international archival descriptive standards in order to facilitate public access
    • to preserve the papers in order to maintain their physical condition
  • The papers contain an estimated 230,000 items or ‘files’ in 815 boxes.
  • The papers were formerly in a state of disarray having being loosely filed into bundles in boxes. Once processed the papers are physically re-ordered into acid-free archival folders and housed within archival boxes.
  • Contract archivists, working at the National Archives, Ireland commenced this project in 2008. The project also employed a dedicated conservator.

The parts of the 1880s adn 1890s are like somethin from the Stasi failed in East Germany, nothing is too small to document.  The theft of a goat, burning of a hay rick a seditious sermon preached.  Among these indexes are the reference to rabies unfortunately there paper share not available they may have been mis filed or lost.

This information was presumably collected by the RIC of the Resident Magistrate and kept centrally in Dublin Castle.



Cork Magistrates who got Statutes 1823.


Cork Magistrates:


Cork Magistrates, 10th June 2019.


Most of the magistrates were Protestant Landlords or Church of Ireland Clergymen. Until Disestablishment 1870 this was the Irish State Church and apart from religion performed quite a number of civil functions administered by the Minister, Select Vestry and Churchwardens.


From around this time on more Catholics were appointed Magistrates some had been appointed since the 1790s. This was supplemented by (RMs) Resident Magistrate’s to remedy a widely believed bias among the Magistrates.  By the early 20th century probably most of the appointment wee those who were Catholic and Nationalist due to the influence the Irish Parliamentary Party on various British Governments.


Marquess of Thomond

Earl of Shannon

Earl of Bantry

Earl of Mount Cashel

Lord Carbery

Lord Ennismore

Honourable and Rev. James St. Ledger

Honourable and Rev. G.D. Beresford

Sir James L. Cotter

John Hyde

Robert Hedges Eyre

Richard Aldworth

Edward D. Freeman

George Charles Jeffreys

Rev. William Stewart

William Moore? Hodder

Justin McCarthy

William Stawell

John Travers

Rev. John Townsend?

Simon White

Rev. John Townsend

Rev. James Hingston

Rev. George Sealy Baldwin

Rev. Samuel Beamish

Rev. Joseph Jervois

Rev. Joshua B. Ryder

Rev.John Lombard

Rev. Jonathan Bruce

REv. Somers Payne

Rev. Edward H. Kenny

Rev. George Armstrong

David Reid

Thomas Walker

Samuel Swete

John Swete

Thomas Harding

Meade Hobson (Assistant Barrister?)

Crofton Uniacke

Henry Croker

Nathaniel Evanson

Horace Townsend

John Grove White

Clutterbrook Crone

Richard ? Parker

Robert Travers


William Baldwin

Rev. John Ware Edgar

Thomas George French

William H?? Newenham

Rev.Charles Smith

George Purcell

Rev. John Chester

Edward Roche

Rev. John G. Madras

John Meade

Henry Greene Barry

Rev.  Newenham

William Cooke Collis

Thomas St. John Grant

Rev. Robert Morrett

Joseph Haines

Robert Courtney

Adam Newman

Lord Doneraile

John Smith Barry

Charles D. O. Jephson

Thomas Burke

Thomas Wallis

Andrew Batwell

Edward Wallis Hoare

Rev. John Orpen

William Wrixon Beecher

Francis Rowland

Thomas Harris

Henry Wallis